The Luxury Hotel Insider: Exclusive luxury hotel deals, features and special rates from the luxury hotel experts at Five Star Alliance.
Named one of Tripbase's Best Luxury Travel Blogs for 2011, below are Five Star Alliance's newest articles featuring exclusive information on luxury hotels worldwide including special offers and deals at the world's best hotels.
The splendid residence that houses Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli and Gran Canalwas built by the Coccina family. Sold in 1581 to the Florentine family of Luca Antonio Giunta, the palace was inherited by the Foscarini family after two of the brothers married descendents of Giunta. The Foscarini family lived at the palace in the eighteenth century, along with their most illustrious representative, Doge Marco Foscarini, who was responsible for the many rare manuscripts, all bound in red leather and stamped with the emblem of the Foscarini family. In the library of Foscarini Giovanelli Palace, nearly a thousand volumes collected by Marco Foscarini have been conserved for decades. Today, more than 500 of those historic manuscripts can be seen at the prestigious Imperial Library of Vienna. The books were a pledge for payment of taxes in arrears to the Austrian state by the declining Foscarini family.
Hotel Scribe was built in 1861 and today honors its many famous visitors with decor and whole floors devoted to them. Soon after opening, the hotel became home of the prestigious Jockey Club. The decoration of the first floor commemorates the prestigious club whose members were the elite of French and European society under the Second Empire. The second floor is a tribute to Marcel Proust, who immortalized the club in his works.
The 4th floor pays tribute to Serge Diaghilev, founder of the Ballets Russes, who lived in the hotel. Stars performing at the nearby Olympia theatre would often stay at the Scribe. Among the artists was the legendary Josephine Baker, to whom the 2nd floor is dedicated. The 6th floor is dedicated to Jules Verne, the visionary author who pioneered the science fiction genre and was a regular at the hotel's Grand Cafe.
In 1895, the hotel played host to the first public presentation of the Lumiere brothers' revolutionary invention, the Cinematograph. The 5th floor commemorates the birth of cinema.
Today, the hotel conserves the memory of that era, along with that of the countless personalities who shaped its renown.
Wequassett Inn sits atop an east-facing rise, and offers breathtaking views of Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. Over 400 years ago, the Wampanoag Indians enjoyed summering at Wequassett. The tribe named the land Wequassett, which means "crescent on the water," most likely because the sand-spit curves about the Cove are in the crescent shape. Much as visitors do today, summer activities for the tribe included swimming and fishing in the Bay's clear waters.
Of the 22 historic buildings that comprise the resort, two boast especially noteworthy stories. The Eben Ryder House, known locally as "Square Top," was actually built in the nearby town of Brewster. In 1907 it was disassembled, and moved to Wequassett on large flat-bed trucks. The registration building, the 1740 Warren Jensen Nickerson House, was also transported to its present site.
In 1934, the Patagonia and Andean region was completely uninhabited territory. In that year, with the creation of the Nahuel Huapi National Park, the construction of a luxury hotel (eventually to become Llao Llao Hotel & Resort, Golf-Spa) began.
The Architect Alejandro Bustillo chose the Puerto Panuelo area for the hotel. In addition to its magnificence and beautiful scenery, the area has a port. Built with cypress logs and larch tile roofing in the Canadian style, the hotel was opened to the public on January 9, 1938. On October 26, 1939 a fire destroyed the building, but it was reopened on December 15, 1940. The hotel closed in 1978, but was re-opened to the public in 1993 under its current name.
Aranwa Cusco Boutique Hotel is the essence of luxury and comfort in the heart of the Inca city. Built in a colonial mansion of the XVI century, it features paintings of the Cuzco school, colonial sculptures, and carvings that transport guests to the greatness of the time. Its elegant rooms, equipped with intelligent oxygen systems, gardens, and sophisticated spa are complemented by friendly service.
Perched in the cliffs of Oia lies the luxurious Canaves Oia Hotel and Suites. Most of the 39 beautifully renovated suites were originally 17th century caved houses. The name of the hotel, Canaves, means exactly that, Caved Houses.
The Quin Hotel, which in November 2013, is a peaceful retreat alongside Central Park. In another life, The Quin Hotel was known as The Buckingham hotel. Opened in 1929, the Buckingham's location near many theaters made it extremely popular with artists visiting and performing in New York City. Famous artistic guests of the hotel include pianist Ignacy Jan Paderewski, artist Georgia O'Keefe, and painter Marc Chagall. In honor of the artists, The Quin Hotel has the Paderewski and O’Keeffe Specialty Suites.
-The Paderewski Suite is a bohemian 1-bedroom suite inspired by the Polish pianist. The 600 sq. ft. suite features city views and distinctive finishes, including a marble shower and bath, separate living room, and dry bar. This room comfortably accommodates up to 2 guests.
-The O'Keefe Suite The spirit of Georgia O‘Keeffe is captured in this picturesque 600 sq. ft. 1-bedroom Specialty Suite. Inspired by O'Keeffe’s harmonic use of line and color, the suite is designed with earth tones and boasts city views, a separate living room, marble shower and bath, a dining area, and dry bar. This room comfortably accommodates up to 2 guests.
Established in the Place des Vosges, in the heart of Le Marais, one of the most famous and historic districts of Paris, the Pavillon de la Reine perpetuates an elegant atmosphere combined with discreet luxury to attract the most stylish globetrotters in the world in their quest for a quiet and discreet place to relax.
Inaugurated in 1612 under the name of Place Royale, the Place des Vosges was built on Henri IV’s initiative, who died before it was completed. It quickly became popular with with the likes of Mme de Sevigne, Racine, La Fontaine, and Moliere. The hotel, slightly set back from the famous Place, was named after Anne of Austria, who once stayed in the hotel.
For religious events, Aranwa Sacred Valley offers the temple San Pedro and San Pablo", which maintains the architectural style of the seventeenth century. The chapel has an altarpiece done in gold leaf paintings of the Cusco School and a pipe organ brought from Berlin. There is capacity for 100 people.